Too Late for Luck?

I went dress shopping this weekend for my party wedding. I sent my husband pictures of dresses that did not make the cut, but I did not send him the dress that I will wear. He asked if that was for luck. Everybody knows that “it’s bad luck for the groom to see the dress before the wedding day”, but what about couples who have already gotten married, but are planning the celebration with their families and friends?

I don’t want to show him the dress ahead of time. It has nothing to do with luck, we’re already married so how can our wedding day give or take away the luck behind us having a lasting marriage. Even if we weren’t married, how would him seeing my dress put a bad omen on our lives together. I don’t want him to see it for one reason really. I want him to be surprised when he gets his first look at me on that day. I want him to have a memory of me walking toward him, wearing that dress and him taking in the entire essence of the bride version of me all at once. For me, I’m not worried about luck, I don’t think we’ll need that, I’m more concerned with our experiences on that day.

Leave a comment